Advisory Groups

A number of permanent and short-term advisory groups inform Dr. Sams' leadership of SUNY Old Westbury. Below is a list of standing organizations or committees that have an official charge, meet regularly, and report on findings and recommendations.

campus - external

Old Westbury College Foundation Board of Trustees

The Old Westbury College Foundation, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to assisting the State University of New York at Old Westbury in matters related to fund-raising and community relations.  The Board of Trustees of the Foundation is comprised of leaders in the fields of banking, law, education, construction, medicine, religion, and more. Representing communities and industries across the metropolitan New York area, these professionals, both collectively and individually, lend support and advice in support of the growth and development of the College.

Board of Trustees

Headshot of Michelle DiBenedetto

Ms. Michelle Di Benedetto, Chair


Headshot of Nora Bassett

Ms. Nora Bassett, Vice Chair

Headshot for Richard Best

Mr. Richard R. Best

Headshot of Ravishankar Bhooplapur

Mr. Ravishankar Bhooplapur

Headshot of David Blumenfeld

Mr. David Blumenfeld

Headshot of Gary Casmir

Mr. Gary Casimir

Headshot of Lawrence Chariton

Mr. Lawrence Chariton

Headshot of Lionel Chitty

Mr.  Lionel Chitty

Headshot of Steven Connolly

Mr. Steven Connolly

Headshot of Elizabeth Custodio

Ms. Elizabeth Custodio

Headshot of Jennie D'Ambroise in a black shirt

Dr. Jennie D’Ambroise

Headshot of Monique Darrisaw-Akil

Dr. Monique Darrisaw-Akil

Headshot of Rachel Lee Davis

Ms. Rachel Lee Davis

Headshot of Tracy L. DeAngelis-Busch

Ms. Tracy L. DeAngelis-Busch

Headshot of Keith R. Engley

Mr. Keith R. Engley

Headshot of Donald Gelestino

Mr. Donald Gelestino

Headshot of Joe Gim

Mr. Joe Gim

Headshot of Larry Lawson

Mr. Larry Lawson

Headshot of Helen Lee

Ms. Helen Lee

Headshot of Kalief Metellus

Mr. Kalief Metellus

Headshot of Oluwademilade Ogunlade

Ms. Oluwademilade O. Ogunlade

Headshot of Bhupendra Patel

Dr. Bhupendra Patel

Headshot of Luis F. Ras

Mr. Luis F. Ras

Headshot of Kerry Ruoff

Ms. Kerry Ruoff, CPA

Viviana L. Russell

Councilwoman Viviana L. Russell

Headshot of Magdy Shady

Dr. Magdy Shady

Headshot of Joseph Sheehan

Mr. Joseph P. Sheehan

campus - external

College Council

The SUNY Old Westbury College Council is an advisory body to the College comprised of up to nine members appointed by the Governor of New York State and one student elected from the student body.  Partners in serving the College's students and helping the institution respond to challenges and opportunities available to it, the community leaders who sit on the College Council meet multiple times a year to become informed of College activities and issues, to review major plans of the institution, and to enact regulations and policies as outlined in New York State Education Law.  

Headshot of Mili Makhijani

Ms. Mili Makhijani, Chair

Headshot of Melissa Archbold

Ms. Melissa Archbold

Headshot of Phillip E. Elliott

Dr. Phillip E. Elliott

Headshot of William Hohauser

Hon. William A. Hohauser

Headshot of Cania Infante

Ms. Cania Infante

Headshot of Martha Maffei

Ms. Martha Maffei

Headshot of Oluwademilade Ogunlade

Ms. Oluwademilade O. Ogunlade

Headshot of Theresa Regnante

Ms. Theresa A. Regnante

Headshot of Scott Reich

Mr. Scott D. Reich