Own Your Future Gala

About Our Event

The Old Westbury College Foundation's 2024 Own Your Future Gala is the first gala under President Timothy Sams' tenure, and the first since SUNY Old Westbury's elevation to university status. The Gala celebrates the accomplishments of the institution, its students, faculty and staff, while bringing together business and industry leaders from across Long Island and New York City to celebrate our dedicated honorees. Proceeds from the event will support the ongoing work of the premier institution that is SUNY Old Westbury.


SUNY Chancellor John B. King, Jr.

John B. King, Jr. Ph.D.

State University of New York

Leslie and Mark Sillcox

Leslie and Mark Sillcox

Founders & Trustees
Tortora Sillcox Family Foundation

Nisha Kaur Sethi, M.D. and Maninder Singh Sethi

Nisha Kaur Sethi, M.D. and Maninder Singh Sethi

Old Westbury, New York

Board of Trustees

Dr. Timothy E. Sams
University President
SUNY Old Westbury


Ms. Nora Bassett
Board Chair
Core Management Solutions, Inc.

Mr. Joseph P. Sheehan
Board Vice Chair
Colony Pest Management, Inc.

Mr. Keith R. Engley
Board Treasurer
Flagstar Bank, N.A.


Dr. Kyle Anderson
SUNY Old Westbury

Richard R. Best, Esq.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Mr. Ravishankar Bhooplapur
Xavier University School of Medicine

Gary Casimir, Esq.
The Cook Group

Mr. Lionel Chitty
Alumni Assoc. of SUNY Old Westbury

Mr. Steven Connolly
Co-Source Solutions, Inc.

Mr. Timothy Coners
Grassi & Co, CPAs

Ms. Elizabeth Custodio
M&T Bank

Ms. Tracy L. DeAngelis-Busch
The Estee Lauder Companies

Ms. Michelle Di Benedetto
Long Island Housing Partnership, Inc.

Mr. Donald Gelestino
Champion Elevator Corp.

Faroque Khan, M.B., (Kmr) M.A.C.P.

Mr. Larry Lawson
WBZ/CBS Boston

Rhonda L. Maco, Esq.
Nassau Community College

Mr. William King Moss, III
Lawrence High School
NAACP, Islip, NY

Alexander Mun, Esq.
The Russell Friedman Law Group, LLP

Mr. Derek Peterson
Soter Technologies

Luis F. Ras, Esq.

Amira C.T. Richardson
SUNY Old Westbury
Student Government Association

Ms. Kerry Ruoff, CPA, CFF

Ms. Viviana L. Russell
Suffolk County

Dr. Eric Schwartz
SUNY Old Westbury, Retired

Dr. Magdy Shady
Renaissance School of Medicine
Stony Brook University

Janet H. Shin, Esq.

Mr. Yiyao (Chandler) Zhang
Northwell Health

Ms. Angela Wambugu Cobb
Executive Director
Old Westbury College Foundation