Alumni Association Hosts 26th Annual Dinner and Award Ceremony

Alumni Association Winners

The State University of New York College at Old Westbury Alumni Association recently held its 26th Annual Awards Dinner at The Fox Hollow Restaurant in Woodbury, NY to honor those who have made an impact on the campus community.

Association President Mr. Lionel Chitty presented the awards to Ms. Regina Scarbrough ’99, Dr. Corinne Graham ’02 ’05, and Professors Aubrey Bonnett and Lynn Walsh.

  • Ms. Regina Scarbrough, an American Studies/Media & Communications graduate, was honored as the “Outstanding Alumni of the Year.” Scarbrough is the associate registrar at SUNY Old Westbury, and previously worked in the Research Foundation office at the College. Her service includes committee memberships for her department and United University Professions; a mentor for the NASPA Undergraduate Fellows Program; and a co-advisor and chartering member of the campus chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa – National Leadership Honor Society. In addition, she is currently the vice president of the Alumni Association, and previously served as secretary to the organization. She is a member of the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers; NASPA- Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education; College Student Personnel Association; National Urban League- Young Professionals, and the Association of Black Women in Higher Education (New York Chapter).
  • Dr. Corrinne Graham, who earned a Business Management bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in Accounting from Old Westbury, received the “Excellence in Civic Engagement Award.” Dr. Graham is the president of GRAHAM International Consulting and Research Inc., which specializes in strategies for small business growth, development, research and training. She is a WE NYC Mentor for those interested in Management Consulting, Training and R&D, and a recipient of the Long Island Business News Class of 2017 and LIBN Top 50 Most Influential Women in Business awards. She runs the active mentorship program LIASB Women in Business, and is a facilitator for the Town of Brookhaven Dress For Success Going Places Network that prepares women to re-enter the workforce.
  • Dr. Lynn Walsh, an associate professor in the Management, Marketing & Finance Department, was honored with the “Excellence in Education Award.” She first joined Old Westbury in 1973 as an academic administrative associate, and has since served in leadership positions in Instructional Support, Academic Affairs, and the School of Business. Dr. Walsh is a recipient of State University of New York Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Professional Services and the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching; being the only person at SUNY to be presented both honors at this time.
  • Dr. Aubrey W. Bonnett, a professor emeritus of the American Studies/Media & Communications Department, was presented the “Dedicated Service Award.” In addition to his career as a professor at the College, he had served as Old Westbury’s vice president for Academic Affairs, and dean of faculty. Prior to joining Old Westbury, Dr. Bonnett was the first African-American Dean of the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences at California State University, San Bernardino and chaired the Department of Sociology at Hunter College.