EOP welcomes newest students with Summer Convocation

EOP 2022 Summer Students

The SUNY Old Westbury Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) recently held its first Summer Convocation to celebrate the completion of the Pre-Freshman Summer Program. In the Maguire Theater on-campus, 43 students were recognized for their achievements by faculty, friends, and families.   

Dr. Jerrell W. Robinson, EOP Director, was joined by President Tim Sams, faculty and peer mentors, in officially welcoming the newest EOP students to the SUNY Old Westbury family, and congratulating them on their commitment to excellence, and their futures.  

The theme of the Summer Program was “Harambee” – a Kenyan word meaning “all pull together” that demonstrates the values of the EOP program. This was further demonstrated by the keynote speaker, Ms. Antoinette Shervington’s passionate speech describing how SUNY Old Westbury’s EOP changed her life for the better. She credits EOP counselors for some of her successes, including being a recipient of a congressional recognition for education in 2021. Shervington graduated in 1988 with a degree in Elementary Education, and has worked as an educator in New York State for almost 30 years. 

The Summer Program was created to provide EOP students with a jump-start on their collegiate experience, and to bridge the transition from high school to college. Participants are involved in a series of curricular and co-curricular experiences including research and critical-thinking skill development, math and writing workshops, and an introduction to campus resources and culture.    

About EOP: The Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) is designed to improve the access and retention of low-income and first-generation college students at SUNY Old Westbury. EOP applicants must have the motivation to succeed and have the potential to perform satisfactorily in a college setting, but may not have been previously able to realize their potential because of their economic or educational background. EOP is a state-funded program open to residents of New York.