Two Old Westbury Students Earn Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence

SUNY Chancellor Award graphic

SUNY Old Westbury students Brianna Levy and Joshua Stickell were recognized as 2018 State University of New York Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence Recipients. They were among the 249 students from 64 campuses throughout the State of New York that received the distinction – the highest honor bestowed upon students in the system. 

“I am immensely proud of these students, who have demonstrated academic excellence and dedication to enriching their campuses and communities,” said Chancellor Kristina M. Johnson. “From research publications in industry journals to volunteering in hospitals and local clinics to holding leadership roles at their institutions, I am inspired by each student we recognize today. Congratulations to all of the students receiving this year’s award.”

The Chancellor’s Award acknowledges students who have demonstrated strength in academics, and accomplishments in other aspects of their lives including leadership, campus involvement, community service, creative and performing arts, athletics, and career achievement.

Senior Brianna Levy, from Bronx, N.Y. is a Mathematics major. She recently had the opportunity to study at the Big Data Summer Institute at the University of Michigan. In addition to her excellence in academics, she is a member of the College’s Honors College, and layout editor for “Synthesia,” the literary magazine for the Honors College.

Joshua Stickell, a senior Politics, Economics, and Law major from Huntington Station, N.Y., excelled at Old Westbury having transferred in as a junior. He was later inducted into the Tau Sigma National Honor Society with a 4.0 GPA. Stickell is a regular volunteer for Huntington High School’s “Civil War Games” and “World Court Games,” where he helps students conduct research in preparation for historical debates. He is an active member of the College’s Diversity & Inclusion Council, and Politics, Economics, and Law Club.

Levy and Stickell were presented the awards by Chancellor Johnson and Old Westbury Provost Patrick O’Sullivan at a ceremony on April 10, 2018 in Albany, N.Y. (pictured).