GRAPHICAL VERSION | Home | Webmail | Student Information System | Library | Policies | Jobs

SUNY College of Old Westbury Site
Home > Academics > Schools and Departments > American Studies
Academics
Schools
Registrar
Support Resources
Course Schedules
College Policies
College Catalogs



Admissions
Financial Aid
Registrar
About Old Westbury
Majors & Minors
Life On Campus
Visiting Old Westbury
Campus Events
Athletics
Marcus Avenue Daycare


American Studies

American Studies Department

The faculty of the American Studies Department offer instruction leading to two separate degrees: a B.A. in American Studies or a B.A. in Media & Communications.

The American Studies major applies a cross-disciplinary perspective to the study of the United States. The broadly based major focuses on the nation's social and cultural history; its people and their actions; and the changing character of its cultural, social, political, legal, and economic structures. The Media and Communications major prepares students for careers in print or electronic journalism and other related media industries and activities, such as video editing, online design, public relations and promotions. Additionally, the majors provides students with a broad-based education emphasizing theoretical, historical and experiential learning in an interdisciplinary context.

Visit Department Site

Faculty Members

Laura M. Anker
Distinguished Service Professor, Director - First Year Experience
Building: Student Union, Room: 313-E
Phone: (516) 876-3460
E-mail: AnkerL@Oldwestbury.Edu

Jermaine Archer
Assistant Professor
Building: New Academic Building, Room: 3003
Phone: 876-4852
E-mail: archerj@oldwestbury.edu

Llana Barber
Assistant Professor
Building: New Academic Building, Room: 3005
Phone: (516) 628-5023
E-mail:

Aubrey W. Bonnett
Professor
Building: New Academic Building, Room: 2001
Phone: (516) 876-3402
E-mail: BonnettA@Oldwestbury.Edu

John Friedman
Associate Professor
Building: Student Union, Room: Catalyst Office
Phone: (516) 876-3381
E-mail: Friedmanj@oldwestbury.edu

Amanda Frisken
Associate Professor
Building: New Academic Building, Room: 3013
Phone: (516) 876-4853
E-mail: FriskenA@Oldwestbury.Edu

Karl Grossman
Professor
Building: New Academic Building, Room: 2006
Phone: (516) 876-3107
E-mail: GrossmanK@Oldwestbury.Edu

Joseph Manfredi
Instructor/Radio Station Manager
Building: SU, Room: 328a
Phone: 516-876-4963
E-mail: manfredij@oldwestbury.edu
Web Page: radio.oldwestbury.edu

Andrew Mattson
Department Chair, Director of Student Media
Building: New Academic Building, Room: 3015
Phone: (516) 876-3116
E-mail: MattsonA@Oldwestbury.Edu

Carol Quirke
Associate Professor
Building: New Academic Building, Room: 3007
Phone: (516)628-5024
E-mail: quirkec@oldwestbury.edu

Samara Smith
Assistant Professor
Building: New Academic Building, Room: 3009
Phone: 516-628-5658
E-mail: smiths@oldwestbury.edu

Denton L. Watson
Associate Professor
Building: Campus Center, Room: E-215
Phone: (516) 876-2889
E-mail: WatsonD@Oldwestbury.Edu
Web Page: http://www.clarencemitchellpapers.com


Email
Student Computing
Computing Services
FacultyWeb
Registration

SUNY College at Old Westbury, P.O. Box 210, Old Westbury, NY 11568-0210 - (516) 876-3000
Privacy Policy